Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation

Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation - Call for Nominations
Deadline September 2, 2022 

Open to all WLA & NASPL lottery members  

Jean Jorgensen, after a distinguished career at Danske Spil, served as WLA Executive Director from 2008 until his untimely death in 2016. In recognition of his strong commitment to WLA’s role in fostering innovation and the development of the future of lottery leaders the Jean Jorgensen Innovation Merit Award was created in 2016. 


Innovation Context 

For this award, innovation can be either the introduction of:  

  • A new product or service;  

  • A novel improvement to an existing process, product or service;  

  • An organizational change or modification to its structure. 

In all cases the innovation must have generated growth, an increase of productivity or improvement that permitted a spike upward. 

The innovation being recognized is not limited to one particular area of the lottery’s operations; it is up to the lottery to decide which innovation it wants to recognize. It can be in: 

  • Marketing 

  • Product development 

  • IT 

  • Human resources 

  • Digital networks 

  • Player development 

  • Security 

  • Societal engagement etc. 


Award Eligibility  

The nominee cannot be a member of the lottery’s senior management; the aim of the Award being to recognize the contribution of a rising talent. 

The nominations must be signed by the lottery CEO and include a description of the: 

  • Project in which the nominee played a significant role.  

  • Nominee’s contribution to the innovative project. 

  • Why it is considered innovative for your organization. 

  • It’s objective and outcome. 

  • The challenges the nominee faced and how they were dealt with.  

The text should be in English, in between 1000 and 1500 words and be sent in electronic format only to Supporting documentation deemed pertinent from the lottery or an external source may be attached. 

Include one color photo (electronic format only) with the nominee’s name as file name. 



The nominations received will be assessed by a panel with an in-depth knowledge of the global lottery industry, the challenges it faces and an openness to regional contexts. 

Three winners will be chosen and will be WLA’s guest at the WLS 2022 held in Vancouver October 16-20, 2022. 



Send the Award Nomination Form to the WLA Secretary General, Lynne Roiter at the following email: by September 2, 2022. 

Download the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation Nomination Form Here.

WLA Gold Contributors

WLA Platinum Contributors