World Lottery Summit 2020 (official)

World Lottery Summit 2020

Leading the journey. Inspiring the future.


October 26 – 30, 2020

Online registration open soon.

#timer-section timer-section row-start row-end col-sm-12 center
Countdown to Vancouver:
info-section row-start col-sm-12

Deadline September 14, 2018

Award Background

new-section row-mid col-md-9

The WLA is recognizing Jean Jorgensen's exceptional contribution to the lottery industry by inaugurating the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award. This award is named in honor of the late WLA Executive Director Jean Jorgensen. Jean spent more than 25 years in the lottery industry, making his entry in 1991 when he began working for Danske Spil.

Jean Jorgensen was the WLA Executive Director from October 2008 until his untimely demise in February 2016. He left a strong imprint on the Association and there is no better way to recognize it then with the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award. It reflects Jean’s strong commitment to the WLA playing a role both in the development of future lottery leaders and in furthering innovation amongst WLA members.

Consequently, the Award encourages the development of future lottery leaders by recognizing their contribution to the introduction of innovative solutions that address their lottery’s needs.


new-section row-mid col-md-3
row-mid col-sm-12


What is Innovation?

Oslo Manual – Guidelines for Collecting and Interpreting Innovation Data, OECD

“An innovation is the implementation of a new or significantly improved product (good or service), or process, a new marketing method, or a new organizational method in business practices, workplace organization or external relations.”

Innovation as applied to the Lottery Sector

While innovation in the lottery context does not require an invention but is more than a simple improvement of what already exists. It is a collective work for which the award nominee was a leader that has changed the way of doing things or addressing a situation.

The innovation being recognized is not limited to one particular area of the lottery’s operations; it is up to the lottery to decide which innovation it wants to recognize be it:

  • Marketing
  • Product development
  • IT
  • Human resources
  • Digital networks
  • Player development
  • Security
  • Societal engagement etc.

Award Eligibility for the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation

    1. The nomination for the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation must be signed by the lottery CEO.
    2. A lottery can only nominate one candidate.
    3. The nominee cannot be a member of the lottery’s senior management; the aim of the Award being to recognize the contribution of a rising talent.


    The nominations received will be assessed by an independent panel comprised of jury members who have an in-depth knowledge of the global lottery industry, the challenges it faces and an openness to regional contexts.

    Four winners will be chosen and invited to participate at the WLS 2018 held in Buenos Aires on November 18-21, 2018.

    Submission Requirements

    Attach a text outlining:
    • the field of innovation
    • why it was considered innovative for your lottery in its environment
    • its objective
    • the stakeholders
    • the internal/external personnel involved
    • the process used to implement it
    • the outcome as well as the challenges met and how they were dealt with

    The text should be in English, in between 1000 and 1500 words and be sent in electronic format only. Supporting documentation deemed pertinent from the lottery or an external source may be attached.

    Include one color photo (electronic format only) with the nominee’s name as file name.

    Send the Award Nomination Form to the WLA Secretary General, Lynne Roiter at the following email: lynne.roiter@loto-quebec.com.
    All Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation nominations must be received September 14, 2018 at the latest.

    Please download the Jean Jorgensen Merit Award for Innovation – Nomination Form here.